Saturday 1st September - Gents' Nominated Pairs  
The last competition of the season. The winners were Jim Allen and Jim Gibb and the runners up were Robin Douglas and Alistair Munn.
Monday 27th August - Club Finals - Part 4  
The results of the last two finals were:  
                          Ladies Nominated Triples                                Gents Balloted Triples
Winner         E Batty, M Thompson, E McLelland                       J Paton, T Kerr, J Gibb
Runner-up      M McAdam, L Sneddon, I Ritchie                    J McAdam, A Williams, A Munn
Saturday 25th August - Club Finals - Part 3  
All of the remaining Club Singles Finals were played and the results were:  
                           Taylor Trophy           Dickson Cup          Gents Handicap             Seniors
Winner                  Anne Loudon         Lillian Thomson         Dougie Beattie          Jim Robison
Runner-up            Mary Thompson        Sheila Black              Jim Findlay            Archie Syme
                                          Walter Jackson                 Williamson
Winner                            Malcolm MacKinnon           Jim Sneddon Jr
Runner-up                             Bill Fleming                    Dougie Leslie
Friday 24th August - Club Finals - Part 2  
Two more Club Finals were played today. The results were:  
                       Ladies Nominated Pairs                          Gents Past Presidents Singles
Winner          Marlene McAdam & Linda Sneddon                    Jim Robison
Runner-up       Mary Thompson & Moira Munn                            Jim Gibb
Wednesday 22nd August - Club Championship Finals  
It seems as if the season has just started and we are already playing the Club Finals!
We had two excellent finals this year. The runners up were Betty Braidwood and Derek Lawie but the Club Champions for 2018 are Anne Loudon and Scott Hamilton.
Saturday 18th August - Sponsored Invitation Triples Competition  
Despite some pretty miserable weather, an enjoyable day was had by all. At the end, the losing semi-finalists were from Twechar and Shettleston. In an excellent final, the Eddlewood team of Ronnie Thomson, Gordon Dall and Dougie Beattie were beaten by Greg Beattie, Ross Jarvis and Sam Graham from East Kilbride.
The day was sponsored by Scotmid Co-operative Funerals.
Saturday 11th August - Ladies Invitation Triples Competition  
A great day was enjoyed by everyone who took part in this competition. The semi-finals were played by two teams from Hamilton with one from Hamilton Caley and another from Chryston. The runners up were Hamilton's Jean Muirhead, Sheena Mailer and Moira Munn and the winners, also from Hamilton, were Anne Loudon, Betty Braidwood and Emily McLelland.
The day was partly sponsored by Scullion Law.
Wednesday 8th August - Ladies President's Two Bowl Singles  
Despite its best efforts, the weather failed to spoil this event and a good day was had by all. After some good bowling and an excellent lunch, the finalists were Moira Munn and Mary Thompson. In the end, Moira edged through to win the trophy.   
Saturday 2nd August - Senior Invitation Triples Tournament  
It was a full house again for this tournament and teams from all over west central Scotland competed.
In the final, the St Leonards/Hamilton team of Sam Graeme, Roy Young and Dougie McIntosh were narrowly beaten by Hugh Clelland, Robert Pender and Alan Patrick from Twechar.
The day was sponsored by John Sinclair.
Wednesday 11th July - Ladies Balloted Pairs Competition  
Ten pairs took part in this competition on a very warm day. Everyone stopped at lunchtime to enjoy a lovely salad, dessert and a glass of wine.
In a close final, the runners up were Betty Dick and Linda Sneddon (Skip) and the trophy was presented to the winners, Marlene McAdam and skip Moira Mackay.
Saturday 7th July - Club Mixed Pairs Competition  
Again, it was a great day of bowling which finished with a close final. The runners up were Moira and Alistair Munn and the winners were Isobel Ritchie and Jim Allen.
Saturday 30th June - Ladies Sponsored Invitation Pairs  
This competition took place on yet another hot and sunny day. In the end, the beaten semi-finalists were Whitefield and Strathaven. After a well fought final, the runners up were Hamilton (Marlene McAdam and Linda Sneddon) and the winners were Aileen Law and Sandra Sproull (Hunter).
The day was sponsored by Rocca Ristorante.
Wednesday 27th June - Ladies Balloted Triples Competition  
This competition took place on the warmest recorded June day in over 2 decades.and it was really hot!
Everyone brought an item of food for a buffet lunch and the table looked amazing.
As only 18 ladies participated, there was only one section and the winners (Linda Sneddon, Catherine Laverty and Rosemary Douglas) were decided on points. The runners up were Rosemary Hassan, Hazel Lawie and Betty Braidwood.
Saturday 23rd June - Balloted Mixed Triples Competition  
This competition is always enjoyable and this year was no exception. The day included an excellent buffet provided by Tom Kirkland and even the weather was kind to us!
In the final, the runners up were Johanna Nolan, Catherine Laverty and Alistair Munn but the winners were Sheena Mailer, Jean Muirhead and Jim Sneddon.
Saturday 16th June - Sponsored Invitation Rinks Competition  
The turnout and the weather may have been disappointing but those who played enjoyed a good day of bowling.
The sun made an appearance for the final which was contested by two Hamilton teams. The runners up were Iain McLelland, Jim Allen, Scott Hamilton and Dougie McIntosh and the winners were Malcolm MacKinnon, Peter Cowden, Archie Syme and Jim Robison.
The day was sponsored by Briarlea Landscapes.
Monday 4th June - Club Balloted Rinks Competition  
The final of this knockout competition was reached tonight. The runners up were Douglas Mailer, Tom Kerr, Des Laverty and Iain McLean and the winners were Hamish Wilson, Ronnie Moore, Derek Lawie and Scott Hamilton.
Saturday 26th May - Two Bowl Singles Competition  
We were fortunate in getting a great day for our first Club competition of the year. The final was played between Jim Gibb and Doug Leslie with Jim earning a well deserved win.   
Saturday 5th May - Sponsored Charity Day  
This is always a very friendly and enjoyable day and this year was no exception. Players from many clubs with whom we have had a long relationship took part and we were again sponsored by T&A Fyfe.
The runners up were the Chryston rink of Tracy Moore, Paul Moore, Isobel Jenkins and Stuart Alexander and the winners from Aberfeldy were Anne Woolley, Douglas Craik, Mattie McDougall and Jim Hermiston.
Proceeds from the day will go to the Musical Memories Group.
Wednesday 18th April - Opening of the Green  
President George Hamilton opened the green for season 2018 on a very pleasant evening. Representatives of the Lanarkshire Bowling Association were present as were invited guests from a number of local clubs.
After the opening ceremony there was a game of bowls and an enjoyable dinner.
Friday 20th April - Ladies Opening of the Green  
President Anne Loudon conducted the ceremony to open the green for the ladies.
The ladies played several ends of bowls and enjoyed the company of players from several other clubs in the area.



Return to Top of Page